Snoring: Is There A Nap For That?

After my son started sleeping through the night at 4 or 5 months, I was ready to welcome a full night’s rest like a long lost friend. Loud Megaphone

So imagine my surprise (ahem, thinly disguised rage), that yet another barrier resurrected itself between me and my precious sleep: my husband’s loud-as-can-be snoring.

Oh no no no NO.

An infant in need, yes. But the full-grown father of my children keeping me up for no reason?

Not on MY watch.

After a few nights of good, uninterrupted sleep (with hubby in the guest room), it hit me.

Hey! I can fix this! I’m a dentist. I do this for my patients, so why not my own husband?

I presented the idea to him, and explained he would need to wear a snore guard from now on. This would curb his snoring, and his stay in the guest room.

But why am I snoring? he asked. I thought only older people, like my parents, did that. Or those who are overweight.

Yes, and no, I replied. Actually people of all ages (and sizes) can snore.  Even my 3 yr old princess can belt out some honkers when she has a cold.

But yes, being overweight, male and increasing age do increase your likelihood, and more commonly lead to chronic snorers, meaning they do it all the time. Others are occasional snorers, often snoring when they’re in super deep (exhausted) sleep, after consuming alcohol or when nasally congested (like a cold or sinus infection).

He was initially resistant, but my evil eye soon put an end to that. To soften the blow, I did add that less snoring would allow him to sleep better too.

And if it doesn’t work? he asked.

Yes, there’s a chance it may not. In that case, he’d need a check up with an ENT doc to check for issues like a deviated septum or nasal polyps. (If he was a chronic snorer, he would also have to be checked for sleep apnea, a much more serious condition.)

The bottom line was we both needed rest. A constant lack of (good) sleep, no matter what the reason, has many negative effects–including lack of concentration and increased risk of high blood pressure, weight gain and depression.

Soon after, a snore guard was made. My husband also got back into his exercise routine, and got better (not “I have children” exhausted) sleep. As for me, my no-sleep related rage has long since subsided.

Which is great, because we both need our energy to exercise…..patience with our kids.

And none of that would’ve been possible if I’d let snoring continue to be a nuisance and feel exhausted day after day.

Don’t let snoring get in your way. Keep your risk low by maintaining healthy eating and exercise habits, and ask your dentist about a simple solution like a snore guard.

(214) 522-3110              www.raodentistry.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Dental Product, Health

Speak your mind

